“Mind… BLOWN!”

CPL Logo

A gentleman came into our piano store a while back.  As it happens, I was pretty busy getting ready for our big holiday concert.  I almost forgot that he had been here!  He happened to stop in to sell me some advertising, but got into a conversation about pianos (one of my favorite topics) with me instead.  Today, he stopped back by to offer me a different deal with the ads, but he reminded me of what we had talked about before.

clarinet

Turns out, this guy was a former music student.  He played guitar and clarinet, hated both, and then quit.  He never really gave music much more thought.

yamaha-grand

Being in the store, however, makes a person more interested, I think.

grand-strings

He asked me, “Pianos make their sound from the strings, right?”

studio-hammers-top

“Yes, well, sort of” I answered.  “The sound is actually produced by the hammers hitting the strings, but the sound board is what magnifies it.”

confusion-clipart-4c9on8bzi

“Huh?”

studio-soundboard

Fortunately, we were standing right next to a studio piano, I showed him which part the sound board was, explained that they were made of spruce and that because of them, the piano makes sound.

music-box-guts

I then pulled out my trusty music box guts.

This thing makes almost no sound when it’s on it’s own, just a tiny – tinny little tinkling.

As soon as you place it against a sound board, the whole room fills with sound.

mind-blown-kitty

“Wow!  That’s awesome, my mind is blown.”

Cool.

group talking.jpeg

When he came back in today, he told me about all the fun he had over the holidays showing off his new knowledge of piano sound production.  I was glad to hear that even though I had nearly forgotten about our conversation, it definitely left a mark somewhere.

You just never know what’s going to happen at the piano store.

Thanks for reading!

Alle

Leave a Reply

